Vegan Chili Weather Finally Hits Bay Area

After weeks of mostly hot weather, the fall that everybody else has been experiencing has finally hit sunny California. As I write, I can hear the pitter patter of the season’s first real raindrops. Raindrops I had to pedal my bike through for an hour today on my commute. When the forecast said 30% chance or rain, I didn’t take it seriously. Now I’m soaked. But it made the perfect setting for my chili that cooked all day in the crockpot. I made it with my new find for this season at the farmer’s market: padron peppers. This Spanish variety I had never seen before this summer are mostly sweet, with just a little heat, and make a great replacement for sweet bell peppers in chili. To that I added the last of the season’s fresh corn, fresh zucchini and heirloom tomatoes. I’m partial to the “dry farmed” tomatoes, so named because they must fend for thmselves without water most of the season. So this week’s chili looked something like this:

Chili

1/2 C each: dry anasazi beans, pinto beans, and kidney beans soaked overnight

about a cup of already cooked and leftover blackbeans

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 stalk celery, chopped

2 C padron peppers, sliced

2 jalapeno peppers, minced

2 C chopped heirloom tomatoes

kernels from 4 ears of corn

2 C chopped zucchini

2 T New Mexico chili powder

1 T ground cumin

salt (optional) I used a pinto bean seasoning blend

dash of hot sauce (optional)

Directions

Cook soaked beans as in basic beans. When beans are nearly done, add remaining ingredients and continue cooking on high until done. If the beans cook quickly, you may want to turn heat down to low. It depends on timing. This batch needed a longer time than usual to cook. Note: I never follow a recipe for chili, never make it the same way twice, and never measure anything. I make it up as I go along, and I encourage you to do the same. Then bake some potatoes and you’re in business.

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

