Marathoner’s Mushu

IF I cook on a Friday, it must be simple and easy. For some reason, I can feel great all day, but as soon as I walk in the door my wheels fall off. And a dinner of cold beer seems perfectly logical. So I either make sure I have leftovers already to go, or I make some so easy I can eat it out of my hands standing over the sink. Like tonight’s mushu. I had some veggies to use up: mushrooms, red bell pepper, purple and green cabbage, a bag of shredded carrots. Perfect for mushu! So I added tofu wrapped them in some middle eastern flat breads from Trader Joe’s and ate them over the sink. That’s because they were drippy. It also means less clean up.

Marathoner’s Mushu

8 oz. mushrooms finely chopped

1/2 head each green and purple cabbage, shredded or thinly sliced

1 C shredded carrots

1/2 red bell pepper, julienned

1 T each chopped garlic and ginger

1 T soy sauce

2 green onions thickly sliced

8 oz extra firm tofu sliced thin (I think baked tofu would be better, it’s firmer and drier)

Hoisin or plum sauce to taste

Directions:

Saute the mushrooms until they soften and release their juices. Add the garlic and ginger and saute for a couple minutes more. Add vegetables and cook until they’re as done as you like. Add soy sauce, green onions, and tofu and heat through.

To serve:

Take a small tortilla, flat bread or pita, and spoon the veggie mixture down the middle, drizzle a little plum sauce (traditional) or Hoisin (my favorite) fold up and eat. Be sure to have lots of napkins handy, they drip a lot of water!

 

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

