Benefits of Pneumonia

Pneumonia benefits? WTF?

Well, it turned out to be true.

#1 Pulp

Lots of time to read mysteries and watch spy movies. Fortunately, I wasn’t completely out of commission, wheezing in bed like the doctor expected I would be. I just couldn’t do anything active mentally or physically. I call the reading and watching “research” for future writing projects. Really.

#2 Weight Loss

Most people dread the holidays for all of the temptations around to eat and cause weight gain. No problem for me. My appetite disappeared. One day I ate absolutely nothing. I was worried that the sleeping 12-14 hours a day would cause me to gain weight, but my appetite countered. While others stepped on the scale after New Year’s and moaned, I cheered, Look! I’m closer to racing weight! Now if I could just find some lungs…

#3 Food Tastes

The really unbelievable and totally unexpected benefit of my long illness is that I lost almost all cravings for unhealthy food. With so little appetite, everything looked the same to me, no appeal. So I made sure I was following the rules of the McDougall Program as closely as possible and eat nutrient dense veggies. The only cheats I had were ginger ale and fruit juice, which I rarely drink. But all the rich foods and things that I have to consciously avoid had no attraction. But the really amazing part is that while my appetite has returned, the temptation to cheat has not! I still just want to eat basic vegan food. Which leads to…

#4 More Weight Loss

I am still losing weight, as the McDougall Program should do. Now that I can exercise a little at very low intensity, it’ll keep going. I was called “gaunt” at the work the other day. Yay! I’m not stopping though. I’ll keep going until called “emaciated”. Then I’ll look like a real endurance racer. And be faster.

While I certainly don’t endorse flu and pneumonia as the way to get to racing weight, sometimes benefits can appear in the strangest places. Keep your eyes open…

 

About vegpedlr

Plant powered off-road triathlete

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

